Be sure to keep the seam allowances close to the edge of the fabric. I have lost count of the quilts Ive made, but complete each one, start to finish with FMQ, occasional hand quilting and the use of stitches on my machine. But if a super-fast finish is your ultimate goal, consider the out-of-the-box ideas below. Can You Make a Quilt Without Batting? Your email address will not be published. Try allover free-motion quilting patterns: beginner to advanced When choosing thread or yarn, the first thing to consider is whether the fiber dye will seep into your quilt. Take my time and not try to meet a deadline. fastest way to quilt ? They think that batting makes quilts too heavy and bulky. These cookies will be stored in your browser only with your consent. From Jera at Quilting in the Rain. Tie a quilt by hand. Im a guy wants to learn to learn to quilt. The batting also adds loft to your quilt. Im no expert on embroidery, so if youd like to learn the fishbone stitch for yourself, watch this YouTube video! Crazy or obsessive, I know. It always reminds me of by-gone days when I would sit with Grandma and quilt with her at her quilting frame. The satin stitch is a staple in embroidery and it can give your quilt a funky modern look. Lets take a look at four of the best alternatives to batting that can be used in quilting. Repeat these steps until your entire quilt is tied together for a fun yet traditional look. Two of my easy ones are parallel lines running edge to edge usually presser food width off the seam lines, or an expanding spiral starting at some point usually off center and spiraling out, turning the quilt around and around as I go. Please read full disclosure for more information. Lets go over a quick tutorial on how to tie a quilt. Whether quilting by hand, or home sewing machine, divide the quilt into This particular thread provides a soft feel and comes in a variety of colors. But if you stuff your quilt without batting, youre free to put whatever decoration